Photo Of The Week – 1/20/10

January 20, 2010

It seems appropriate that since the trial has concluded (see link below), the Photo Of The Week should belong to my 3-Strikes Ranch survivors, El Mariachi and Hope. They are a couple of the lucky ones and have since found a safe and peaceful home with the very generous, animal-loving, wild horse advocate (and the list goes on) Michael Blake – and I’m so grateful for this outcome.

I also appreciate the efforts of every person that had a part in exposing the situation, rescuing, treating, adopting…saving the horses that survived. I’m grateful to the County Attorney and Law Enforcement folks who worked tirelessly to gather the facts for trial. And to the jury who had to sit through a week of testimony to bring about a conviction (justice for the horses). To my family, friends and people I didn’t even know who helped me through this ordeal with their support and kind words of encouragement. Many thanks to all of you.

I’m hoping for a sense of closure with the sentencing phase…

“Jury Finds Jason Meduna 3-Strikes Rancher Guilty on Most Counts”

Related Blog stories:

“Rescuing An American Icon”

“El Mariachi’s Thunder Road”

“El Mariachi and Hope Update”

(Photos are for viewing purposes only. Images are copyright protected and owned solely by Pam Nickoles Photography. No reproduction permitted. Feel free to share the link, not the images.)

20 Responses to “Photo Of The Week – 1/20/10”

  1. Lori Schmidt (LoriProPhoto) Says:

    They are looking wonderful Pam, (((Hugs))) and thanks to your special friend Michael Blake, he is an Angel! I hope that this outcome will let you move forward and I hope one day that I will be able to meet you and your wonderful El Mariachi and Hope and their and your guardian angel.


  2. Pam, They look like they are in a garden of eden together. They so deserve it. You have saved these horses twice over with the help of good and compassionate people. This is what we need so much more of. mar

  3. R.T. Fitch Says:

    Pam, we are so glad that you had “survivors”, so many did not.

    Thanks for the updates and all you do.

    R.T.

  4. Rene Says:

    Pam, that is the sweetest picture!!! Very fitting picture to show them living out their lives in peace.


  5. what a beautiful shot of 2 fortunate survivors,
    thanks to you Pam

    is he still a stallion ? will there be a little El
    Mariachi?
    he is so so gorgeous

  6. Vicki Freiberger Says:

    There are no words to describe this wonderful photo. Bless you, your husband, Mr. Blake, and all the others that do so much for the horses.

  7. Chris Cash Says:

    Nice – heat, thorns, and flies is what that picture brings to mind. 😉 Just kidding. It’s a great photo. A “happily ever after” image.

    Very glad to hear that episode is just about over. Let’s hope they make an example of him in the sentencing.

  8. Lori Schmidt (LoriProPhoto) Says:

    Mary Ann, I asked Pam the same question about El Mariachi still being a stallion and I think that is one of the things that I admire the most about Pam, she has not tried to subdue and impose her will on this beautiful horse, he is indeed a stallion still as I understand and she has tried to keep him as natural as he possibly could be under the circumstances. I would also like to know if there will be a “Junior El Mariachi” for him and Hope or if she was given that PZP drug to make her infertile. Wouldnt that be wonderful. I hope I get to see these beautiful horses one day as close as nature intended that they can be and celebrate their joy.

    We also need to thank you for your beautiful music and lyrics which you so selflessly gave us all to enjoy about our Mustangs, I listen to it every day. If I wasnt in such an unprecedented difficult situation I would be there in the middle of the fray I can assure you but sadly that is just not possible.

    So many people to thank, and just sorry for the ones that didnt make it and the people involved in their losses.

  9. Margaret Says:

    I wrote Michael and thanked him a kazillion times for helping you Pam and El Mariachi and Hope. I am so inspired by those who not only have the money, but the working knowledge to help the horses. Who can stand by ready to assist if need be. I’m not that sure I could be that strong.

    Okay, El Mariachi you have now become my second fav wild mustang! Only Cloud exceeds your magnificents and that’s only cause I saw him before you!

    Such knowing kind eyes. Because of these two wild stallions I will make the trip tomorrow to Sacramento to rally with the other wild horse advocates to end these roundups.

    Thank you Pam for allowing us to see your wonderful horse. And thank you El Mariachi for your incredible will to live. For again showing us the way.

  10. Dr. Bill and Pat Rice Says:

    Another phase concluded! Thanks so much, Pam, for getting involved (more of Stormy’s legacy?) and sharing your part in our ‘world of horses’! We’ve often wondered if these beautiful creatures, having come to us as a divine gift, are capable of abstract thought . . . “What do we do if there is no food today? Does my leg hurt because I took that tumble and no one was around to help me? Would this young stallion profit from a quick kick in the chops? That El Mariachi is a really good-lookin’ stud – I wonder if he thinks I’m pretty???? Yes, we do give them human traits and they honor our caring with lots of love! Be Blessed! And Keep It All Coming! L & P, Bill and Pat

  11. Sandy Elmore Says:

    Pam, So happy the outcome was good for your two horses. They are very lucky to have you.

  12. pnickoles Says:

    Thanks everyone for your kind and thoughtful comments…

  13. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    WHAT A BEAUTIFUL PHOTOGRAPH AND STORY OF RESUCE SURVIVAL INTO THE SAFE HAVEN OF YOUR HEART. I JUST READ OF ALL THE HORRORS, THE DEATHS AND ABUSE AT 3 STRIKES. I NEVER KNW ABOUT THIS. IT MADE ME SO SICK TO LEARN OF IT AND VIEW THE PHOTOS THERE.

    GOD BLESS YOU FOR ADOPTNIG AND BRINGNG THESE TWO BACK TO HEALTH AND HAPPY LIVES.

    I TOO AM CURIOUS, WILL THERE BE A LITTLE MARIACHI???

  14. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    THANK YOU FOR POSTING THIS.

  15. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    Pam

    Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful heart warming story! I am so proud of you for your commitment to El Mariachi and also to Hope. It must have been so much stress and heartbreak along the way. That 3 Strikes Ranch, what a sick place. I cried seeing the photos. There is one of a horse that died and a obvious semi circle ditch of the pawing from his hoof, I imagine trying to get up. He died right there. Is this one of your photos?

    Oh God, what is happening to our beautiful horses! The whole program is corrupt!

    Then there are angels like you! This whole experience should be a movie!
    what a great and happy ending for you and Mariachi and Hope/ You could not ask for a better home for them. If he wrote “Dances With Wolves” you know he has a HUGE heart and can give them the best care.

    Amazing story. I am so pleased to hear a happy ending in the midst of all the roundup horrors now taking place.

    Do you know about the wild horses at Theodore Roosevelt National Park?
    Many going up for auction with NO restrictions! You know what that means.

    http://wildhorsesoftrnp.blogspot.com/

    Maybe you can get some help for them too? Networking can bring miracles as you know.
    I am gathering advocates for a protest on Sunday, Jan. 24th, noon to 3 PM in front of the Capitol building in Carson City Nevada.
    You are a great mentor for any wild horse advocate!! Also, I love your photography. I am on flickr.com. My user name is “artattackcat”

    I know your life will be forever blessed for your deeds of love and caring.
    Again, thank you for sharing,
    Cat Kindsfather

  16. Ellieroo Says:

    With all the sorrow and death that the wild ones are having to endure It is a balm to the heart and soul to see El Mariachi and his mare!

    Thank You !

  17. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    This images you have clicked, hang on the walls of my horsey heart.

  18. pnickoles Says:

    Cat – thank you for your kind comments and I’m so glad there is some semblance of a happy story here for you. It sounds like you have a huge “horsey heart.” 🙂 I’ll go check out your flickr page.

    Ellieroo – I’m so grateful that these 2 horses made it out from under the BLM and 3-Strikes Ranch…

  19. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    Hi Pam! Yes I do have a huge horsey heart!! I want to go out and shoot wild horses, but not sure if I will be able to find any now.

    Thanks for checking out my photo stream. I do have some horse shots and further into my stream are some horse shots at a parade. In the parade shots there are some advocate shots also form Wild Horse Preservation and Wild Ass Women. The shots called “White on White” and “The tail Ends or The Tale Ends”, have many links and info posted on them. I would really like to get more horse shots. Can you suggest anything to me??

    I just got a wonderful email!! Great news!!! IFA is suing BLM in Federal Court!! Check it out it you have not yet.

    Thanks for your reply. Take care of your horsey heart. ❤


  20. […] https://nickolesphotography.wordpress.com/2010/01/20/photo-of-the-week-12010/ Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Ugly Duckling Vegetarian Moussaka Posted in Wild Horses | 82 Comments »Tags: "Twelve The King", 3-Strikes Ranch, Alliance Nebraska, BLM, BLM adoption, BLM gather, BLM roundup, Bureau of Land Management, Dances With Wolves, El Mariachi, International Society for the Protection of Mustangs and Burros, Karen Sussman, Michael Blake, Morrill County Nebraska, Mustang rescue, Nebraska horse rescue, Nebraska Mustang rescue, Nebraska Mustangs, Pam Nickoles, Pam Nickoles Photography, White Mountain HMA, wild horse legislation, wild horse protection, wild horse sanctuary, Wild Horses […]


Leave a comment