Photo Of The Week – 7/12/15

July 12, 2015

DSC_6669-s copy

Wow. It’s been a while since I’ve made a wild horse post. This process of grief is not a speedy one, so I’m adjusting to the new normal and allowing myself the time to do it. But, I do miss the horses. At the end of June, hubby and I made a trip to New Mexico to decompress and while we were there, we visited the wild horses of the Carson National Forest – The Jicarilla Wild Horse Territory. We went 2 different times. These horses were hard to find. Their home is beautiful. Green, green, green with lots of grass (lots of rain, just like in most of Colorado). All of the horses we saw looked very healthy (only about 5 bands in total). I hope I get to go back to this area and spend more time exploring – finding more horses and learning about their habits and haunts.

Photo for today is a mare and foal from the Carracas Mesa area (June, 2015).

Photos are for viewing purposes only. Most images are available online at: http://www.NickolesPhotography.com. Images by Pam Nickoles Photography, along with all site content are copyright protected and owned solely by Pam Nickoles Photography. Photos and/or text may not be used, downloaded or reproduced in any form without express written permission from Pam Nickoles Photography. Feel free to share, but please respect my copyright.

15 Responses to “Photo Of The Week – 7/12/15”

  1. Maggie Frazier Says:

    WELCOME BACK, Pam! I’ve missed your posts & pictures. Sure do hope you are doing better – it takes time (easy to say) but you have such wonderful memories of your mom and the time you spent with her – especially the past few years – I hope that will eventually be a comfort to you.

  2. puller9 Says:

    I’m so glad the area is so green. I remember in 2012 when I was out that way, a couple of small herds were removed and in poor shape due to no graze available. 😦

  3. Karen Schmiede Says:

    So glad you are back. I really missed your pictures.

  4. hesetsusfree Says:

    Yes Welcome back.! I’ve missed you so much.

  5. pnickoles Says:

    Thank you Maggie. I will try to do a better job of posting more regularly. 🙂

  6. pnickoles Says:

    I was very happy to see the area so lush too Puller.

  7. pnickoles Says:

    Thank you Karen and hesetusfree. That’s very sweet of you both. 🙂

  8. Maggie Frazier Says:

    Do what you feel like doing, Pam. But just know there are lots of us who miss you!

  9. Ronnie Says:

    Dear Pam,
    So nice to see you posting & your beautiful photos. I have so enjoyed them over these many years. (And I liked to give “personalities” to the horses 🙂
    The *process of grieving is personal & private.
    Again, so nice to “see” you, Pam!

  10. pnickoles Says:

    Thanks again Maggie. 🙂

  11. pnickoles Says:

    Thank you so much Ronnie. 🙂

  12. Mary Duke Says:

    Big hugs from YOUR “band” – missed you TONS! I am guessing that I am not alone in knowing that we (those connected to you) are in a tribe of sorts and when one of ours is hurting or missing, we feel it and notice. You matter to us! Sending love…!

  13. pnickoles Says:

    Thanks so much Mary. What a nice thing to say. I appreciate it. It’s certainly been a journey. Hugs right back!

  14. Stephen Says:

    When is the best time of year if someone wanted to travel to NM to see horses? Or is there a “best time”? We have wanted to make the trip for some time.

  15. pnickoles Says:

    Hi Stephen – this was our first time to NM, but I would imagine it’s pretty much the same as Colorado. The Carson Nat’l Forest roads would be hard to navigate when wet. Foaling season (early on) is generally when the horses hide more and you have to be careful not to get too close to those you do find. We have gone out to the horse areas in the winter, but the roads must be frozen to be safe. Kind of a contradiction there, but again, wet roads are bad news. Good luck and be safe!


Leave a Reply

