Photo Of The Week – 8/29/12

August 30, 2012

The apricot dun stallion Blizzard and his band – summer, 2011. (Pryor Mountain HMA, Montana – Bighorn Canyon area).

Photos are for viewing purposes only. Most images available for purchase at: http://www.NickolesPhotography.com. Images by Pam Nickoles Photography, along with all site content are copyright protected and owned solely by Pam Nickoles Photography. Photos and/or text may not be used, downloaded or reproduced in any form without express written permission from Pam Nickoles Photography. Feel free to share, but please respect my copyright.

11 Responses to “Photo Of The Week – 8/29/12”

  1. Margaret Says:

    Pam I am just sick at what the BLM did to this wonderful herd. They are truly managing them to extinction.

    I tried honest I tried to find money to adopt Breeze. It sickens me. I saw her when she was three weeks old. She has grown to be a lovely young mare. I wanted to keep her in a sanctuary never to know a saddle or having me on her back.

    I only wanted her gentled to the point where she could be handled with no fear of anyone getting hurt (like being seen by the vet). Other than that let her be.

    The funding will not come through. I’m left broken hearted. Soon she’ll belong to someone else who may or may not have the same intentions I had.

    I have the BLM and the stupid FS to thank for this. They stuck that ugly fence right in the middle of the historic grazing for the horses. And for me there’s not a single thing I can do. It kills me.

    I share Cloud’s dismay and broken heart. In that regard he and I are one. I wanted to be able to tell him that I promise to be on Breeze’s side and always act with her best interests as my first priority. That won’t happen now.

    It hurts. And I can’t make it stop. All those horses. The babies they stole. The tier 3 mare they took and her baby. Those bloodlines are lost now to this herd.

    I wish I had the money to “buy” all the horses and the land that make up the Pryors. I’d let them run. I would try to ulitlize PZP Ina responsible ongoing manner and take as few as possible. I would try to supplement feed as necessary but try to do in a way that the horses don’t realize man is feeding them. And I sure as bleepers wouldn’t strip this many horses and rape the herd like this.

  2. Lyn McCormicK Says:

    Which one is Breeze ? And, was she adopted ?

  3. Margaret Says:

    Breeze is Cloud’s two year old daughter. She has kinda a short lightning bolt blaze on her face with a splash of white around her nose (kinda like Raven had).

    She’ll be up for adoption/auction on Sept 8. I say auction cause it’s competitive bidding on adoption.

    Please keep the killers out…

  4. Tom Harley Says:

    Reblogged this on pindanpost and commented:
    just found this, lovely horses. We have a similar problem with wild horses here in the Kimberley, when stations abandoned horses in favor of motorized bull-catchers and helicopters. Now our Government wants to shoot them from helicopters! http://www.wildhorseskimberley.com


  5. Too sad…. Our rotten to the core Government…….. Prayers that good homes are found at the auction. Support The Cloud Foundation, with their lawsuit!!

  6. Kim Michels Says:

    The stallion really pops next to those grulla mares. Beautiful image Pam.

  7. Arlene Says:

    Is there anyway we can help Margaret adopt her Mare Breeze ??? We could all pitch in so she can have this beautiful mare, Margaret s intentions are awesome for her!!!!!! I am willing to donate to this, just small donations will help her we have a little time before adoptions sept 8 th??????> Here is the chance for Breeze to be forever happy with Margaret !!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Jeanne Hummel Says:

    Please continue to PRAY for the horses. God hears our prayers and feels our pain and anguish. He answers prayers. He is a loving God, not one that is indifferent to us or our feelings. Also pray for Him to soften the hearts of the BLM bureaucrats and open their eyes and hearts to do the right thing.


  9. Precious beings in horse form, deserve our respect, deserve to live free, deserve to be left alone to be themselves on the land of their ancient ancestry! May God help us all to accomplish this noble goal. They are such healing presences here on Earth!

  10. Margaret Says:

    Arlene I am without words at your generosity. There are other issues involved. It wouldn’t be right to bring Breeze into my family right now.

    I am hoping beyond hope that a great advocate will be able to take her. I want her to have the best. I know it sounds so selfish when there are so many horse’s out there desperately needing each of us.

    Many things happened that day on the mountain. It would start to make things right that went so wrong. And knowing Breeze would be safe from slaughter–it would give me a lot of peace of mind that I don’t have right now.

    Arlene I am so so deeply touched. Just pray for Breeze that she finds a happy home where her needs will always be first priority. That’s all I have now.

    Thank you doesn’t even begin to express my gratitude for your generous heart.

  11. ginger Says:

    Beautiful picture Pam—as usual. If any of you have any intentions of adopting on the 8th please let us know as we are actively trying to get as many wonderful adopters to the Saturday auction. By wonderful I mean those that will make a lifetime commitment to their mustang. Breeze is of course close to my heart as I filmed her on the day she was born–a beautiful early July morning just below the Dryhead Overlook in the Custer National Forest lands where the horses are now barred from using. We continue to legal challenge the FS and BLM from keeping the horses from their historic lands!


Leave a Reply

