In Memory – “Greasewood” of Sand Wash Basin

January 12, 2012

I just read on Facebook that the big band stallion Greasewood from Sand Wash Basin was euthanized on 1/10/12. I’d seen some disturbing images taken by Nancy who writes the Sand Wash Basin Wild Horses Blog and I wondered how he was ever going to recover from such an injury. I also read that The BLM took his body to the Vet for examination where a 15 inch piece of barbed wire was found twisted around his leg. Such a tragedy.

There is now an effort being made to gather folks for a clean up week at the HMA in hopes that something like this won’t happen to any of the other wild creatures in the Basin. At least there may be something good to come from the loss.

In memory, photos of Greasewood from August, 2011.

The family he leaves behind without a protector…

White Sage

Yarrow

Demi

Beauty and heart. You’ll be missed big guy.

Photos are for viewing purposes only. Images by Pam Nickoles Photography, along with all site content are copyright protected and owned solely by Pam Nickoles Photography. Photos and/or text may not be used, downloaded or reproduced in any form without express written permission from Pam Nickoles Photography. Feel free to share, but please respect my copyright.

20 Responses to “In Memory – “Greasewood” of Sand Wash Basin”


  1. Wonderful blog Pam

  2. Karen McLain Says:

    Wonderful tribute to a powerful stallion. Last summer, one of his mares was lame, and he took such good care of her. I have since spent some time painting him. I know I will paint him again too. I hope his band will find a protector soon.


  3. Thanks Pam,
    The images of Davy G and his family are wonderful.
    My favorite painting of the ones I did from the Mustang A Day Challenge in 2011 was of Davy Greasewood. So glad he is now peaceful and out of pain. We who follow the Wild Horses of the Sand Wash Basin shall miss him dreadfully.
    ~Linda

  4. Jim Westin Says:

    Thanks, Pam
    I’m glad I got to meet him…thanks for that. ♥

  5. Steve Says:

    What a loss of such a magnificent creation. When I was very young my cousins who lived not very far away had a horse. My first experience on a horse was with Toby. I was to be able to ride with my uncle. I loved that horse. Then one day I heard my mom talking to my aunt…Toby had been sent over the rainbow bridge because he had gotten his hoof tangled in barbed wire. Needless to say at the grand old age of 6 I was a mess. It took me months to get over the loss and he wasn’t even my horse. I feel the same way whenever I see this kind of thing because I can imagine the pain and suffering. God bless this horse and all those still on the open range. Free to roam and live as they were meant to live. I pray they all survive Ken Salazar and the BLM’s reign of terror. If I could come to help the clean up I would in a heart beat but alas it’s way far and the cost is beyond my means. I will be there in spirit…I have to find some Kleenex now…God Bless Greasewood

  6. Kathy Says:

    Thanks for posting this, Pam. I loved seeing Karen’s painting of Greasewood and Sage last week and I’ve been thinking about him since I heard about the injury. Bless his big heart. I hope his family hooks up with another stallion soon for this long winter. I HATE barbed wire’s effects, when our wild ones are supposed to be free. RIP, big guy.

  7. ~ Jan Says:

    Poor Guy…I just checked their blog. What a horrible, ugly wound and an immense tragedy. Even in what must have been nearly unbearable pain, he still took such good care of his Family, Sweet Boy. Rest in Gentle Peace, Greasewood. Bless you and your Wild Heart forever.

    Such a beautiful photo tribute to a stunning Stallion and his beautiful Family, Pam. Thank you.

  8. katrine pett Says:

    What a blessed “mountain” of a horse- thankyou for letting us know and good will come from this somehow.

  9. Maggie Frazier Says:

    What a brave boy he must have been. I;m sure none of us truly know what these horses go thru in their iives – just surviving & taking care of themselves. And thanks to the BLM & the cattlemen adding to all the obstacles they have to deal with – fencing off the waterholes & the roundups. Just goes to show how strong these horses are!
    Wish I was close enough to help with the cleanup.
    Maggie


  10. Davy G just had nice energy. I’m so sorry to hear about poor Yarrow being injured as well…gad she may have wire or a nail in her hoof at this rate? Who knows? Are ranchers allowed to fence public land? If so, they should be fined for not removing fencing when they move cattle out or don’t repair or clean up.

  11. Leah Ayers Says:

    I thought BLM was warned of barbed wire before some of these gathers. i recall even a video documenting unsafe hazards in the path before a gather. Hope something good comes out of this tragedy. poor horse.

  12. Kim Michels Says:

    Gorgeous photos Pam 😀

  13. connie Says:

    what a beautiful horse and such a waste to have him put down. I do not understand how people can do this. he is just a picture perfect horse. look at his eyes so gentle. may he rest in peace and be surrounded by grassy fields over the rainbow.

  14. Linda H Says:

    You said beautifully with your photos! Thanks Pam!

  15. Jo Lister Says:

    stunning photos thank you! He epitomized wild and free didnt he! we are far away in South Africa but can believe that your plains will be the poorer without him. Well done for keeping the public aware of the plight of these gorgeous horses.


  16. What beautiful pictures of this horse. I never got to see him in person, but know those that he was a favorite for them. I wish that somehow all that wire out there could be cleaned up. I saw a lot of it but it is a big place and would take a lot of people to help with this issue. My thanks, to Nancy for getting him looked at to determine what needed to be done because of his injury.

  17. Margaret Says:

    I was under the impression a couple of years ago that the contractor was suppose to go out and remove any barb wire that could injure an animal. And that cattle guards were improved so they were all safe.

    So who’s messing up? Seems to me that that is a pre-gather action that the contractor has to take to ensure the safety.

    Am I surprised that the horses suffer yet another break down in communication?

    Rest easy Greasewood. You earned the right. Someday you’ll get to hold the government up for judgement–to a higher power. I’d loved to be a fly on the wall that day! It won’t be pretty!

  18. Nancy Babcock Says:

    Beautiful photos of a magnificently beautiful and supremely noble horse. My heart breaks for him and what he had to have suffered, again at the hands of man. Thanks, Pam for documenting him so wonderfully.


  19. Beautiful photos. Beautiful stallion. Im sad to read about his death, really sad…Thanks for sharing Pam. //Marie

  20. Odakota Roberts Says:

    Great tribute to the big guy..


Leave a Reply

