Colorado Color

October 9, 2011

We left early last Saturday morning, bound for the South Park area of Colorado in hopes of seeing some of the changing colors of the season. It didn’t take long after sunrise to realize that we had timed our quest for color pretty well.

Our first destination – Boreas Pass just west of the tiny town of Como, Colorado.

Click on the photos for sharper images

Actually, this was taken along the way near Shawnee, CO just as the first rays of sunshine were beginning to reach the canyon

And this was taken on Kenosha Pass.

Oh, here we are - Boreas Pass. 🙂

A reflection off the shell window where the dogs are taking in the views.

I loved these dew covered fallen leaves. The drops looked like little round jewels. So pretty.

At the summit and headed down the other side into Breckenridge.

That's Tom way up there in the truck. Follow the yellow-tree road...

The puppers are pretty comfortable back there in the shell. 🙂 Brihten on the left and little Sage (Sagey) on the right.

Couldn't resist a couple of portraits while they were out playing amongst the color. The handsome and wise 'ol Brihten.

People have asked how Brihten got his name; what does it mean? About 10 years ago, we lost our other dog, Makeetah. Of course it left an awful hole, so we decided to just go look at Puppy Lifeline (they rescue puppies that would otherwise be destroyed) in Brighton, CO. That’s when this adorable little puppy stole our hearts – he ended up picking us out. Well, since we found him in Brighton, CO and he brightened up our life so after losing Makeetah, we fabricated a name that featured both aspects of how he came into our lives. Of course, I love my niece’s version of how we named him (which I never even thought of but got such a kick out of when she told me!). The first part of his name after my step-son Bryson and the last part after my other step-son Justin. How clever is that?! 🙂

And the goofy little guy that keeps me laughing, Sagey.

Almost into Breckenridge now.

We took this photo along Hoosier Pass on the way to Fairplay where we had lunch before heading to our 2nd destination: Weston Pass.

Just starting up Weston Pass.


More play and another portrait. 🙂

Hello there - doesn't she look nice surrounded by color? Mule deer doe.

So much color!

Found these in a little creek than ran alongside the road.

Something was pretty busy around here, but must have gotten interrupted before he was finished.

This was all very recent work of a beaver...or beavers.

We saw this sign right by the trees the beaver was taking down and made a joke that he must have forgotten about this little detail.

There were beaver dams and ponds all over this area.

Saw this little chippy as we were nearing the summit.

Tom and Brihten at an old mining site.

HA! Here's a 10 year-old photo taken at the same place.

Just can't help myself - the boys. 🙂

Made it. At this point, it was getting pretty late in the afternoon, so we had to turn around and head back instead of going down the other side. Next time.

Last shot of the day as the skies were getting very dramatic. Love these types of photos.

We didn’t get home until after dark. Puppies slept most of the way home. A tired dog is a happy dog…and I always feel good about that.

Photos are for viewing purposes only. Images by Pam Nickoles Photography, along with all site content are copyright protected and owned solely by Pam Nickoles Photography. Photos and/or text may not be used, downloaded or reproduced in any form without express written permission from Pam Nickoles Photography. Feel free to share, but please respect my copyright.

The “Email Subscription” link automatically alerts you to new posts. Stay updated and subscribe today!

Wild horse prints, DVDs, totes, calendars, cards and more: www.NickolesPhotography.com

27 Responses to “Colorado Color”

  1. Maggie Frazier Says:

    Glorious pictures, Pam. Really takes me out there!
    Thank you so much
    Maggie

  2. Angie Says:

    Beautiful….I missed getting out to really enjoy the peaking of the colors this past week, so looking at these are wonderful Pam!

  3. Linda H Says:

    What a beautiful documentation of a beautiful fall! Thanks Pam! You really hit the day perfectly!

  4. pnickoles Says:

    Thanks you guys. I feel like we really did time it well this year – yesterday was our first snow!

  5. Kim Michels Says:

    Stunning images Pam! I’m so homesick for the fall colors.


  6. SOOO BOOTIFUL ! i keep singing John Denvers song Aspenglow in my mind 🙂 aweseom shots PAM

  7. TJ Says:

    Just beautiful.

  8. westinimages Says:

    Hey Pam, It’s pretty hard to go wrong with a “set-designer” like that…but what a great eye you have…awesome and evocative images….bends in the road….drops of water….you got it all…from big to small. We’ll have to fix that Weston Pass sign…they spelled it wrong again.

  9. Shelva Wood Says:

    What can be said???? NOTHING!!!!!! You have taken me to the heights of Fall at its best….Can never thank you enough for doing all of this, I’m from North Georgia, the Blue Ridge Mtns. NOTHING COMPARES TO THIS….Your dogs are simply beautiful, your husband is not bad looking either…

  10. tzfitch Says:

    Stunning photos! With as dry as it’s been here, I forgot other parts of the country actually produced such beautiful colors!

  11. carien Says:

    thanks for taking me along for the ride Pam, I felt like I was right there in your back seat again. just beautiful, wish I could be there! Carien

  12. pnickoles Says:

    Hi Kim – are you in California now?

    Hey Mary Ann – I bet that song is beautiful in your voice. Sure wish I could hear it…

  13. pnickoles Says:

    Hi TJ – you’ve had quite a tough month or so. Hope you’re doing okay. I’ve been thinking about you.

    Thanks Jim – I thought about that sign too. It was hard not to spell it “your” way in this post!

    Hi Shelva – thanks so much for your kind words. I kinda like my dogs and hubby too…obviously. 🙂

  14. pnickoles Says:

    Hi Terry – sadly, just a really a tough year for the folks in Texas. Glad to hear that you guys were mostly spared in your area. Hi to R.T. and all your critters.

    Hey Carien – you can jump in the back seat with us anytime. 🙂

  15. Kathy Wharton Says:

    Your photos are amazing as usual and I love the shots of Sage of course!!!

  16. gerrikier Says:

    BEAUTIFUL images Pam! Thank you so much for sharing them.

  17. Karen Says:

    P began visiting Colorado several years ago and bought property in Fairplay…the pictures have me homesick…this is my “real” home….I really like the deer photo…..


  18. The photos are just wonderful Pam. Thanks for taking us on the journey with you. Our trees here are just kissed with yellow. We are racing the frost… if it hold off we will have some amazing golds and reds but very different from what you have seen there. I love the dog portraits! Thanks again for sharing. =0))

  19. Mar Wargo Says:

    You are North of us and your leaves are further along… just beautiful, Pam!!


  20. An embarrassment of riches!

    As one who had planned to see it all first hand this year and can’t I will cherish this stunning collection. I feel like I am there!


  21. Oh My gosh!! That first photo just took my breath away!

  22. Sue Says:

    I had almost forgotten how beautiful fall is in Colorado. We actually lived in Shawnee for a year and used to take road trips on all those passes with our dogs too! Thanks for bringing back great memories for me.


  23. What a fantastic ride!!! Thanks so much for sharing when some of us aren’t able to make that run, even tho we do live here too!!!! Wish I could, but YOU make it possible to see what I would otherwise miss!!!! Your puppies are TOO ADORABLE!!!!! Really camera hounds!!!! Thanks again~~~~


  24. Great photos! I expect there are going to be a lot of yellow printer ink cartridges used up! LOL!

  25. Janet Carabello Says:

    Stunning photos and color! I just returned from back east (Boston)….thought I might get tree colors….everything still green and 85 degrees! Global Warming?????????

  26. Jaime Foutty Says:

    Beautiful color in beautiful pictures. Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

