Photo Of The Week – 8/10/11

August 10, 2011

Click on the image for a sharper view

I believe this is a stallion (the gray) and a mare, but I wasn’t able to get close enough to be positive. They were in the Cathedral Bluffs area of the Piceance Creek-East Douglas HMA in Colorado. A really beautiful location. Made a flying trip there last weekend. SO worth it. 🙂

This photo available as a print: www.NickolesPhotography.com

Photos are for viewing purposes only. Images by Pam Nickoles Photography, along with all site content are copyright protected and owned solely by Pam Nickoles Photography. Photos and/or text may not be used, downloaded or reproduced in any form without express written permission from Pam Nickoles Photography. Feel free to share, but please respect my copyright.

14 Responses to “Photo Of The Week – 8/10/11”

  1. Grandma Gregg Says:

    Thank you, Pam. Your wonderful photos are often the highlight of my week and these two horses today are beautiful! From your recent visit, do you have an estimate of the number of horses in the Cathedral Bluffs area of the HMA? Thank you very much.

  2. pnickoles Says:

    Hello Grandma Gregg – thank you for your kind words. It’s nice to know I can contribute to your week . 🙂 I was only out in that area for about half a day and saw about 15-20 horses total. I’ll be going out again when I have more time to look around.

  3. TJ Says:

    Just gorgeous – the horses and the surroundings. Beautifully framed. The grey reminds me of Grey. 🙂

  4. pnickoles Says:

    Hi and thanks TJ! I had never been to this part of the HMA. It was incredibly beautiful. I have to go back. 🙂 I’m having a hard time keeping up with all your new posts, but know I read and enjoy every one. Love the guess the due date contest you have going on. I may need to enter that! 🙂

  5. Debbie knickerbocker Says:

    Thank you again for another weeks gorgeous pic. Never disappoint :)!

  6. Katrine Pett Says:

    Like twin flames just lovely Pam!


  7. Gorgeous photo Pam! All the more reason EVERYONE needs to post BLM on why they shouldn’t be removing these horses from their home.


  8. As usual Pam your photo of the week is simply stunning. I just love your photography! Just gives me heartbreak to think they could lose their freedom forever 😦

  9. Jerry Says:

    Very nice Pam, that background looks like you and them were on a very high ridge as it looks to be a long way down behind them.

  10. Shelva Wood Says:

    Again, you have once again out done yourself…Such beauty is so hard to get on film, but you just DO IT!!!!! THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH……

  11. Lethie Says:

    Beautiful Photo, Like the composition of it. Always a treat to get your posts. Thank you for sharing your photos. Maybe I will get a chance to visit * * * *

  12. Maggie Frazier Says:

    Another great picture! So enjoy seeing the horses –
    and they all look so healthy & happy. Certainly havent seen any that look thin or sickly!!!
    Keep up the good work
    Maggie

  13. pnickoles Says:

    Thanks Debbie, Katrine and Puller. It’s the horses that really never disappoint. I’m just lucky to be able to visit their world once in a while and then share the images I bring back. 🙂

    Yes, it’s heartbreaking to think about the horses losing their freedom Darcy. You know it all too well youself. I know I will be in a dark place when it happens. 😦

    Hi Jerry – hope you’re doing well (and the wild ones too). Yes, it was a high ridge. Just a wonderful place to view horses.

    Thank you Shelva, Lethie and Maggie as always for your thoughts and comments.

  14. Grandma Gregg Says:

    Hi again Pam. I am sorry to have to mention a negative thought into your great photo website that I enjoy so much, but in my research of the Piceance/Douglas herd and according to their census fly-over map there were only nine horses counted in the spring of 2010 in the Cthedral Bluffs area and if we add an estimated 4 foals for 2010 and then another 4 foals for 2011 that would equal approximately 17 horses on the Cathedral Bluffs “pasture” of the HMA. This coincides with your estimate almost exactly. My concern is that the accepted number of adult breeding age horses that it takes to have a genetically viable (healthy – without inbreeding) herd is 150-200 horses. Per the BLM maps, this Cathedral Bluffs area is completely fenced from any possible intermingling with any other horses and thus doomed. You may also be aware that BLM culls and euthanizes any genetically “sub-standard” horses (club-footed etc. which is often caused by interbreeding) thus I unfortunately see only an eventual zeroing out of this herd and band within the near future. All I am saying is that I hope that you and others will contact or will stop and visit and discuss this with the BLM office that is in charge of this HMA and make it clear in your mind what they are doing to our horses – this herd and this band in particular. If you learn something that I need to know – please let me know – since we are all learning and since we all realize that this gigantic issue is really all about the individual horses and that we must be their voice. After seeing your photos of those two incredibly beautiful horses … I just had to share my worries with you. Sorry.


Leave a Reply

