Wild Horse Journal Entry

August 17, 2010

I belong to Equine Photographer’s Network, a membership of equine photographers from all over the world. For the last couple of years, EPNet has featured a very worthy (and difficult) project entitled, “Horses in Need.” Last year I contributed “Rescuing An American Icon,” the story of El Mariachi and Hope and the horrific ordeal they managed to survive at the 3-Strikes Ranch. This year, I’ve been so wrapped up in getting out to the ranges to see our wild horses before all the roundups, I just didn’t think I had any time for this project. However, with a little nudging from one of the founders of the group, I realized that I needed to make time. The wild horses need as much attention as we can possibly give them.

So, this little piece is what I managed to put together in a few hours to meet an important deadline. It’s brief, but heartfelt.

These are just some thoughts I wonder/ponder about when I’m out with the wild horses…

Click on the link below to view the story:
Wild Horse Journal Entry

6 Responses to “Wild Horse Journal Entry”

  1. Barbara Warner Says:

    This is all just so hearbreaking. My deepest appreciation goes to the brave humane observers and to you for your beautiful photos.

  2. Jim Westin Says:

    All I could think of as I read your update was Chief Seattle’s “speech” and the old saying, “What goes around, comes around”…..even if it takes a LONG time. I am saddened and disheartened and sickened by this mindless injustice. I wonder if I feel 1/100 of the pain and suffering that the red man felt. After all we once did this to them. These horses are their legacy too….maybe more theirs than ours. I cannot comprehend man’s inhumanity? So many questions…..so few solutions. Oh, and my dear Pam, thank you so much for all you do…the journey IS the destination….the work IS the reward.
    Jim

  3. Puller Lanigan Says:

    Just read about the dead foal found at Twin Peaks. Please keep ppl onsite at these roundups and concentration camps – it scares me reading all the BS by BLM and their ‘grand plan’ that they will ship out the horses in holding before the public can vote to free them.


  4. Folks I can not say this enough times; Call, write, fax, or go in person and DEMAND that Ken Salzar, The BLM (the ones involved in these round ups) and the contractors be arrested and prosecuted and that the horses and burros be released back onto their land.Don’t asked (you will be ignored) DEMAND. I just got a FORM letter from my representative here in Montana and so I re submitted my question: Why aren’t Ken Salazar, the BLM, and the contractors being arrested for breaking the law? And since those that are supposed to be enforcing the law are to buisy looking the other way instead of doing their jobs, I wanted to know how I could get these outlaws arrested and prosecuted. I also asked him as my representative to step up to the plate and do the right thing. Call, write, fax, email, or go in person DEMAND JUSTICE.


  5. […] Wild Horse Journal Entry (nickolesphotography.wordpress.com) […]


  6. What a sad yet wonderful story. It reminds me of another which did not end with beautiful pictures to enable people to connect with their hearts and defend while there was still time. The American Indian. It seems these horses are marching the same government trail to sorrow that their partners and caretakers did so many years ago. And once again, promises are made, promises are broken and the politicians say what they believe people want to hear while furthering their own agendas and failing to see the spirit and beauty they are so cruelly crushing.


Leave a Reply

