Photo Of The Week – 6/23/10

June 23, 2010

“Me and My Shadow.” An older photo (2006) of the lovely palomino-colored mare Sasakwa and hiding behind her is the black stallion Derby. Both are from the McCullough Peaks HMA just outside of Cody, WY.

(Photos are for viewing purposes only. Images are copyright protected and owned solely by Pam Nickoles Photography. No reproduction or downloading permitted. Feel free to share the link, not the images. To share, click on the blog entry title. The permanent link will be displayed in your browser’s address bar. Copy this address to share.)

14 Responses to “Photo Of The Week – 6/23/10”

  1. Kim Michels Says:

    A perfect composition! Beautiful Pam πŸ˜€

  2. Puller Says:

    The sun and the moon! Sasakwa is a beautiful Palomino, nice rich gold.

  3. Roxy Says:

    I had to do a double take!

  4. pnickoles Says:

    Thank you Kim. πŸ™‚

  5. pnickoles Says:

    That’s cool Puller! I like that! The Sun and the Moon… πŸ™‚

  6. pnickoles Says:

    HA! That’s funny Roxy. πŸ™‚ Well, they are almost melded together.

  7. Jim Glynn Says:

    I love your photographs, I am a Wildlife & Nature photographer, The only wild horses I ever saw was north of Jeffery City,Wy 30 years ago, I plan on being at Sand Wash Basin June 29th, Do you have any tips on where I could find the Horses? I would appricate any help. Jim

  8. pnickoles Says:

    Hi Jim – thanks so much for your kind comments. I believe you can still find horses near Jeffrey City. Surely not as many, but some. 😦

    If you e-mail me, (info@NickolesPhotography.com) I can put you in contact with a gal that is documenting all the Sand Wash horses and knows where to find them – Nancy. She also has a blog: http://www.sandwashwildhorses.blogspot.com/

    I’d love to see some images from your trip! Thanks for stopping by.


  9. They look like they were posing for you. LOL! Love it!

  10. Deby Zimmerman Says:

    What a beautiful picture you have here Pam. I can only hope these two are still out there somewhere enjoying their lives….. (sure would like to know your secret on how you got them to pose like this… πŸ˜‰ lol..)

  11. Joanne K. Says:

    So beautiful! What a pose! This is one of the prettiest I have ever seen of wild horses up close! The stallion so much in her shadow letting her shine, while he quietly protects. Makes your mind wander to wonder about their lives. Thanks again for such a lovely photo.

  12. pnickoles Says:

    Suzanne – curious for sure! πŸ™‚

    Hi Deby – yes, both of these horses are still running free at McCullough Peaks. My secret? It’s really not much of one. I just stand and watch for hours and hours. I am truly fascinated by the wild horses and I seem able to muster up incredible patience when I’m around them. πŸ™‚ Too bad it’s not always the case! HA!

    Thank you Joanne – that’s quite a compliment. I’m so glad you like the photo. It’s one of my favorites as well. πŸ™‚

  13. Janet Ferguson Says:

    The coat is the color of newly minted gold!

    (Like I have ever seen newly minted gold!)

    Beautiful.


Leave a Reply

