McCullough Peaks – Part 2

April 25, 2010

After the adoption, Tom and I drove out to the Dry Creek area of the McCullough Peaks HMA. At a water hole, we observed a lone stallion standing underneath a tree. We watched him for a minute and then I decided to try walking out to him. He was not a horse I recognized and he let it be known right away that he wanted no part of me. Off he went.

Bachelor stallions are typically more curious. I had heard the horses had been moved around quite a bit and I wondered if this was a stallion from an area that saw fewer people. In any case, he stopped only briefly to make sure of my location and then trotted off until he was out of sight.

We drove on a little ways until we spotted two horses. More bachelor stallions. Maybe we’d have better luck with these guys. I grabbed my camera and started towards them. Another pinto boy (lots of color in the “Peaks” horses). He watched my approach, but didn’t seem overly concerned.

His buddy did the same, but again, he didn’t seem too worried. I hadn’t been with them very long when I noticed both of them perk up and look off in the same direction.

Out of the corner of my eye, I saw another horse approaching. Yet another stallion. He came upon the other two horses without incident, so I assumed he was a part of this bachelor band that may have been off trying his luck at acquiring a mare somewhere and was back having had no success.

He kept his eye on me as he made his way back to his buddies. Since they didn’t seem alarmed at my presence, I imagined that gave him the confidence to continue making his way towards us, but his eyes remained fixed in my direction.

I always try to stay conscious of my body language (calm and non-threatening) while at the same time, “speaking” to them with reassuring thoughts that I’m only there to observe and take pictures. These horses are smart and they’ll have you sized up pretty quickly. I do my best to make a good impression. 🙂

I took many pictures of this group before packing up my gear as they slowly moved off. I turned around to take one last look and smiled when I saw they were doing the same. Stay safe boys and may you each find the families you long for.

(Photos are for viewing purposes only. Images are copyright protected and owned solely by Pam Nickoles Photography. No reproduction or downloading permitted. Feel free to share the link, not the images. To share, click on the blog entry title. The permanent link will be displayed in your browser’s address bar. Copy this address to share.)

9 Responses to “McCullough Peaks – Part 2”

  1. jan eaker Says:

    Thanks Pam for all you do!!!!

  2. cindy Says:

    Handsome boys!

    Thanks for sharing Pam!

  3. Lyn Says:

    Beautiful photos Pam. Those tri-colors are really nice !

  4. Lynn Bauer Says:

    Pam –
    These are wonderful photographs! We love the way you approach the horses, always with their *feelings/fears* as your number one concern. That counts a lot – your caring shows in your work!
    Thanks! Good job – very good job!
    Lynn & Kathy
    NM

  5. Joey Says:

    Hey Pam!
    Beautiful pictures of some Beautiful Boys!
    Thank you so much for braving those bitter Wyoming winds so we can “watch” with you!

    I was just wondering where McCullough Peaks were?
    I, for the life of me cannot find on My Chevy’s papers his exact HMA and by gosh, if these pintos don’t look like a “relative”.. Especially the first guy, in Part I, who took off when he saw you!
    Chevy is a Tri-Color pinto, bay, black & white..
    I like did a double-take! lol!
    I’m gonna have to “dig” deeper to find his HMA. (Don’t know Kokomo’s exact HMA either, but he came from the Red Desert..)
    Thank you again Pam!
    Can’t wait to meet everyone in a WEEK! OMGOSH! :o)

  6. Joey Says:

    Oops! I’ma goof!
    Meant to say the first Boy in the first part of Part II!
    xoxox

  7. Ada Says:

    Pam,
    These are some of my favorite boys. The first one is Java Man an old guy. The next is Zipper who is one of Okemah’s babies. The white is Black Hawk another old boy. The next is Sunday Sorrel Surprise who is one of Trona’s Babies. Thanks for showing everyone how beautiful our horses are with your wonderful photos.
    Ada

  8. pnickoles Says:

    Thanks everyone for your comments. It’s always good to know that people enjoy seeing the wild ones. 🙂

  9. pnickoles Says:

    Hey Ada – thanks for the ID’s on the horses! I don’t think I’ve ever seen Java Man before, but could tell he was an older gent. 🙂 I can’t believe that pinto sorrel is Sunday Sorrel Surprise. I have pictures of him when he was just a youngster in Stage’s band. Time flies and they sure grow up! 🙂


Leave a Reply

