McCullough Peaks – Part 1

April 23, 2010

It’s quickly becoming the busy time of year with the nicer weather and more outdoor activities, so I’m going to break up my posts and upload as time allows. I still have a lot of photos to share from our recent visit to McCullough Peaks that I’m working on (though there just aren’t enough hours in a day to work on them as much as I’d like). The following isn’t in date order, but it’s a start…

It's early morning at the Peaks. There are antelope everywhere, but these guys had a really nice backdrop.

It was a chilly morning in Wyoming – the wind was blowing (pretty normal for Wyoming) and it was only in the 30’s. We’d gotten to the range early for the wonderful morning light, but it looked like it was going to be a pretty gray day regardless of our good intentions. It wasn’t long before I spied a herd off in the distance. We got as close as we could and then I hiked out to them. They were a little further away than I had anticipated, but despite the wind chill factor, it was worth the effort.

As I got closer, I noticed the black stallion was looking off into the distance. I had to top a hill before I could see what had his attention. It was the bachelor stallion Kenya and the black band stallion was headed in his direction.

There was a little “posturing” and some squeeling, but then it was over. And that’s when I saw a little filly from the band run up the hill towards Kenya. The black stallion let her go to him without interfering. It was if he had just given Kenya his permission to enjoy some play time with one of his band members.

And their play date began.

These two just stood and watched the horses playing together

They romped and chased each around for about 15 minutes while I watched. Such obvious, carefree fun – they made me smile. I would have stayed longer, but the wind had taken a toll on my fingers (even wearing gloves) and I still had quite a hike back to the Jeep ahead of me. Both horses paused as I started back down the hill. I looked over and thanked them for allowing me to photograph and share a part of their play date. 🙂

(Photos are for viewing purposes only. Images are copyright protected and owned solely by Pam Nickoles Photography. No reproduction or downloading permitted. Feel free to share the link, not the images. To share, click on the blog entry title. The permanent link will be displayed in your browser’s address bar. Copy this address to share.)

12 Responses to “McCullough Peaks – Part 1”

  1. Sue Says:

    This is my all time dream, doing just what you are doing.

  2. cindy Says:

    terrific photos! what a great experience!

  3. mary agarwal Says:

    Yes, love the photos!!

  4. Linda H Says:

    I love being right there with you in the McCullough Peaks with your photos!

  5. pnickoles Says:

    Thanks for your comments everyone. I appreciate them.

    Sue – I do feel very grateful that there are still some wild horses fairly close to me. I just wish I could “beam” myself to all of the different HMA’s much more frequently. 🙂

  6. TJ Says:

    Wonderful experience to see them playing!

  7. Lynn Bauer Says:

    We’re sooooooo thrilled to see Kenya still there, wild and free! Our visit with him last fall in very late September was incredible!! He kept coming closer and closer and we kept trying to back up to stay in compliance with the law. Thanks, Pam! We feel a LOT better knowing he’s still there…
    Lynn and Kathy

  8. joyce Says:

    thank you for sharing these precious moments

  9. Karen Says:

    Thank you for sharing another wonderful interaction, with in this herd. It is good to just see them out there…


  10. I would like to personally thank you for capturing this natural beauty and wonder, for all to see, as before the Animal Nazi’s get done there will be no living presence for anyone to enjoy and when all is said and done, the empty void that will engulf most of us will break our hearts at the loss.

  11. pnickoles Says:

    Many thanks to you all for your comments.

    Lynn – there will be more photos of Kenya as I find time to process images and post. 🙂

    Brenda – I truly hope that I’ll always be a photographer of wild horses and not someone who is documenting what once was…


Leave a Reply

