Photo Of The Week – 3/3/10

March 3, 2010

Do you remember the photo of the ornery little Adobe Town foal chewing on his moma’s mane I posted a while back? Well, here’s that little guy’s band stallion. Can’t say for sure he’s the sire, but they both have unusual coloring, so it’s a possibility. I took both photos back in 2007. I haven’t seen either horse since and I’ve looked for them on every trip…and I’ll continue to look for them each time I go out. Their home is slated for a roundup this year. I’m hoping for a moratorium before that ever happens. We’ve lost enough of these beautiful, healthy icons of the west.

Don’t forget about the March for Mustangs on March 25th. Please attend if you can!

Please submit your comments regarding the impending Adobe Town and Salt Wells roundups. They are due by April 2nd. Read about it here: http://www.trib.com/news/state-and-regional/article_9b09aec0-68a9-5261-a23b-79e6545c8d35.html

Comments may be mailed or hand delivered to: 280 Hwy 191 North, Rock Springs, WY, 82901 or emailed to Rock_Springs_WYMail@blm.gov. Include “Adobe Town & Salt Wells Creek HMAs Scoping Comments” in the subject line.

(Photos are for viewing purposes only. Images are copyright protected and owned solely by Pam Nickoles Photography. No reproduction permitted. Feel free to share the link, not the images.)

8 Responses to “Photo Of The Week – 3/3/10”


  1. Stunning shot Pam, you have some beauties there!

  2. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    Breath taking image for 3/3/10.
    Gorgeous stallion and beautiful portrait Pam!!
    Wow, he’s majestic! I’ll bet he has a load of mares!


  3. You got the timing girlfriend ! another captivating shot. Gorgeous
    Mary Ann

  4. LoriProphoto Says:

    Handsome boy and what a looong mane, I love long unruly manes!!!

  5. LindaH Says:

    Such a striking portrait! This guy motivated me to take some time this morning to send my comments to the BLM on this roundup. Their statistics are, as usual, misrepresented, and I was able to site the USGS counts done before and after the last roundup verify my numbers and to dispute their calculations.


  6. Yes, this is one hunk of gorgeous wild stallion.. handsome. I do not want to see these horses touched by you know who ever again. I hope this sweet gene pool is still a free horse? love them all, mar

  7. Teresa Gray Says:

    Do you have more pictures of this guy? I would love to have this and others..do you have a website to view pictures.. thanks

  8. pnickoles Says:

    I love being able to share these magnificent animals with all of you who appreciate our wild ones. Thanks for your comments.

    Linda – awesome that this guy inspired you to send in your letter! Yay! 🙂 I hope the BLM is bombarded with comments against the planned roundup.

    Teresa – my website address is: http://www.NickolesPhotography.com


Leave a Reply

