Free No More

March 18, 2009

The following images were taken at the end of September, 2008 just before the BLM gather at Sand Wash Basin, CO in October. Both the mare and the colt were brought in during the roundup. I’m not sure about the mare, but I was told the little stud colt was put up for adoption – taken from his mother and his short life of freedom on the range. My hope is that he found a caring, forever home. He was so uniquely marked – I was looking forward to documenting his life in the wild through the years. Along with this foal, over 200 horses were permanently removed.

Protective mare shielding her colt from me

Protective mare shielding her colt from me

002-s1

003-s

004-s1

005-s1

Family portrait - foal, mare and stallion

Family portrait - foal, mare and stallion

4 Responses to “Free No More”


  1. Pam,

    I too am a photographer and very much enjoy photographing Wild Horses! It pains me everytime the BLM conducts a gather. Our Wild Horses should remain wild for us and future generations to enjoy.

  2. pnickoles Says:

    Hi Duane,

    Nice to have a fellow wild horse lover/photographer stop by. You have some very nice images. I’ll be watching for your “K-9 Condo” out in the field – maybe we’ll run into each other someday. 🙂

  3. Michelle Says:

    Wow is mama gorgeous! Love the pattern and coloring on her. Very unique. Beautiful!

  4. pnickoles Says:

    Nice to hear from you Michelle! Yes, I thought that mare was interesting too. Until I got closer, I couldn’t even see her coat pattern…


Leave a Reply

