Life’s Challenges

March 2, 2009

About a week and a half ago, it was discovered that my Mom has a very aggressive form of cancer. She had pretty major surgery almost immediately and she’s now in recovery. It was such a shock to all of us (including her) since she was actually more mobile and feeling better the last couple of years than she had in a long time. It’s hard to comprehend that she’s now so sick.

Mom recognized my love for photography early and made sure I had camera equipment growing up (as a single mother with 3 kids and the soul supporter from the time I was 6 years old, that was NOT an easy task – I don’t know how she did it. ). And, somehow, when I was 15, she also managed to bring into my life, my first horse. I had no idea how much her acknowledgement and support of my passions would affect the entire rest of my life. Photography and horses have always brought me some of my greatest joy, my most creative moments, a sense of accomplishment, unconditional love…and an amazing source of therapy. Something I can truly appreciate right now.

Over the past few years, Mom has happily endured many a bumpy ride, hot and dusty day, or windy, freezing conditions to share in my adventures with the wild horses. She loves them. I’m hoping I’ll be able to take her to see more of the wild ones sometime in the near future, just like we planned.

In the meantime, she needs her family’s love, care and support. Time with Mom is understandably more important to me than most anything else right now. We remain positive that with the surgery and subsequent treatments to follow, she’ll recover. As a bit of therapy for myself, I’d like to continue this Blog and offer a “Wild Horse of the Week” type of entry. But today, meet my Mom…

Mom at the top of the Pryor Mountains, MT

Mom at the top of the Pryor Mountains, MT

Mom and Tom near Krueger Pond, Pryor Mountains, MT

Mom and Tom near Krueger Pond, Pryor Mountains, MT

Mom watching Diamond's band go by below her perch - Pryor Mountains, MT

Mom watching Diamond's band go by below her perch - Pryor Mountains, MT

dsc_8596

Mom at Pryor Mountains, MT

Mom at Pryor Mountains, MT

Enjoying the horses below the ridge - Pryor Mountains, MT

Enjoying the horses below the ridge - Pryor Mountains, MT

Mom and Tom at McCullough Peaks, WY

Mom and Tom at McCullough Peaks, WY

Tom and Mom at my Artist's Reception.

Tom and Mom at my Artist's Reception.

A favorite photo of Mom in her sanctuary of flowers.

A favorite photo of Mom in her sanctuary of flowers.

8 Responses to “Life’s Challenges”

  1. Billie Says:

    Pam,

    I am so sorry to hear about your Mom. I just lost mine last July. My thoughts are with you.

    Billie

  2. pnickoles Says:

    Thanks Billie – I very much appreciate your support.

  3. TJ Says:

    I’ve been thinking about you both, especially during my trips to the basin, surrounded by all that wild horse medicine. I hope some of it makes its way to you and your mom during this uncertain time.
    TJ

  4. pnickoles Says:

    Thanks TJ – you’ve been so thoughtful.

  5. Tricia Says:

    Pam,

    My prayers and thoughts are with you, your Mom, and Tom. Your Mom is such a special lady and I am glad I got to meet her last year at the Mustang Challenge. I will say a special prayer for her when I am out in the herd area. You know those wild horses and the Lord can work miracles.

    Tricia

  6. pnickoles Says:

    Tricia,

    Thanks so much. We all appreciate the encouraging words and thoughts. I know Mom will come with us to the next Mustang Challenge too.

  7. Michelle Says:

    What a wonderful and strong lady! You are blessed to have her and she you. My prayers that God’s path is smooth for her and each moment a pleasure. Our time together with loved ones is priceless!

  8. pnickoles Says:

    Thanks Michelle. I appreciate your thoughts and prayers. She’s doing pretty well right now and we’re grateful for that!


Leave a Reply

