Horse Antics

February 21, 2009

I have been trying to get a picture of our 2 horses playing with their “toy” ever since I saw my young gelding pick this bucket up over a year ago. Sometime between now and then, the two of them discovered they could play with it together. It’s been so much fun to watch this game between them. I’ve seen them hit each other over the head or come up from below and knock each other in the chin. (Luckily, it’s a really flimsy rubber bucket!). They’ll drop it and start chasing each other and then go back and pick it up and start swinging it at one another. They’re a hoot!

The tricky part has been that these horses live in our backyard and every time I’d get my camera in hand and try to quietly open the back door to photograph them, they’d hear me and come running over to the gate. Game over.

A couple of days ago, the wind was blowing and they were feeling rather frisky out there in the paddock. They started playing their bucket game and I ran for the camera. I figured I might get lucky and the wind would drown out the noise of the door opening…and it did! Finally – I managed to get a few images to share of Gold (my 6 year-old Palomino Foxtrotter gelding) and Sammy (my husband’s 13 year-old rose-gray QH/Appy gelding) playing with their rubber bucket.

(Excuse the condition of the paddock – it’s been a bit too mucky lately to get the tractor out).

Gold and Sammy. (Barn names are so original, aren't they?)

Gold and Sammy. (Barn names are so original, aren't they?)

Gold smiling.

Gold smiling.

Let the game begin.

Let the game begin.

gs4-s

gs5-s2

gs6-s

Floating bucket...

Floating bucket...

2 Responses to “Horse Antics”

  1. TJ Says:

    Love these pix! Love to see horses being horses and playing with each other. Good job getting out of the house without being noticed – ha!
    TJ

  2. pnickoles Says:

    Thanks TJ. Gold and Sammy never used to be buddies at all until I lost my wonderful ‘ol Stormy horse (Stormy and Gold were tight). Gradually, they’ve become pretty good together and now they play, play, play. They’re alot of fun.


Leave a Reply

